Manpreet to captain Men’s Hockey team in Tokyo Olympics

manpreet singh
Source: The Economic Times

One of the most talented Mid-fielders of the country and present captain of Indian Men’s Hockey Team, Manpreet Singh would lead the team in Tokyo Olympics too. Along with him, Harmanpreet Singh and Birendra Lakra are named as Vice-captains of the team. A 16-members team for the tournament had already been announced last week by India. Under his captaincy, team has won 3 tournaments in last 4 years including Asia Cup in 2017 and Asian Champions Trophy in 2018. This would be 21st Olympic tournament of Men’s hockey team. The Indian team had last won a medal in Olympics in year the year 1980. Since then, India is suffering from a medal ‘famine’.

The 16-members squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Surender Kumar, Amit Rohidas, Birendra Lakra

Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma, Sumit

Forwards: Shamsher Singh, Dilpreet Singh, Gurjant Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Mandeep Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Translate »
%d bloggers like this: